top of page

ENSA Leadership and History

ENSA Leadership

2022-2024 OFFICERS


Robyn Bailey

Chapter President

ENSA E_edited.jpg

Georgia Jones

Recording Secretary

jULY 2022_edited.jpg

Eva Coley

Financial Secretary

Melissa Denton Headshot.jpg

Melissa Denton

First Vice President


Ayanna Ramsey

Corresponding Secretary

Ashley Jackson Photo.jpg

Ashley Jackson

Assistant Financial Secretary


Amanda Wright

Second Vice President

Headshot Leslie.jpg

Leslie Rice


ENSA History

Sisterhood, Scholarship, Service, Social Action

Delta Sigma Theta was the first Black sorority in Evanston, Illinois. The charter was issued on January 20, 1948 as Gamma Omicron, a mixed chapter comprised of undergraduates and alumnae members. In 1971, collegiate members at Northwestern University chartered the Theta Alpha Chapter and on February 9, 1975 Gamma Omicron Chapter became known as the Evanston-North Shore Alumnae Chapter.

The principal purposes and aims of this public service sorority are to establish, maintain and encourage high cultural, intellectual and moral standards among its members; to engage in public service programs; and to promote and encourage achievement in education by granting scholarships to high school graduates from the Evanston area.


Our fashion show benefit, which has become our signature event, has enabled the chapter to distribute more than $290,0000 in scholarships to deserving students.


Our highly regarded teen mentoring program, GRACE (Girls Reaffirming and Achieving Character and Education) was a forerunner to the Grand Chapter's Delta Academy, and the chapter has transferred its focus for this program to the mission and objectives promoted by the Delta Academy, Delta G.E.M.S., and E.M.B.O.D.I.

Untitled design (78).png

Charter Members

Evanston-North Shore Alumnae Chapter

Beulah Avery* 

Beaulah Cheeks

Temple Henderson*      

Shirley Mines* 

Bobbie West

Barbara Barksdale           

Billie Chiles*      

Carmelia Hill*    

Yvonne Payton 

Lenore Wheeler

Bernie Bates      

Yvonne Davis*    

Fredda Jones    

Lucia Peele        

Dorothy Williams

Marsha Belcher

Meredith Emmons         

Minnye King      

Christine Price  

Florence Winfield*

Anne Bland        



Betty Fisher*    

Beatrice Luther*             

Claudia Taylor   

Pauline Woodruff*

Mattie Bracey   

Annie Gulley     

Delores McManus          

Gladys Turner*

Arneta Young

Arlene Burke     

Ivradell Haugabrook*    

Vivian McMillian*           

Julia Turner* 



bottom of page